This site aims to inform and mobilize Beverly parents to take an active role in all issues related to the funding and operation of the city's schools. It was launched in the spring of 2008, when the city saw its first-ever override attempt fail, followed by the closure of a nearly-new elementary school. Subsequent years have seen further cuts that have led to larger class sizes across the district. While the opening of an impressive new high school and plans to replace the city's aging middle school give us reason to be optimistic, the school community must be ever vigilant in demanding appropriate school funding by city and state governments, and better community communications from the district and School Committee.

Elected Officials Contacts

Below is updated School Committee and City Council contact information. The new term started in January 2014. Paul Manzo was elected School Committee President;  Kris Silverstein Vice-President; and Lorinda Visnick is the new Ward 6 rep. New Mayor Michael Cahill also becomes a member of the School Committee.  Many new members on the City Council as well.  Here are all the current members, and their contact info.

School Committee

Member Ex Officio
His Honor, Mayor Michael P. Cahill
28 Foster Drive
978-869-2111
mayorcahill@beverlyma.gov

David Manzi, Ward 1 
34 Roderick Avenue 
978-921-0123 
dmanzigoldcoast@aol.com

Paul A. Manzo, Ward 2 (President)
89 Lovett Street 
978-927-9912 
p.manzo@comcast.net

Kris Silverstein,Ward 3 (Vice President)
44 Longmeadow Road 
978-922-0879 
krissilverstein@yahoo.com

Matthew J. Kavanagh,Ward 4
44 Boyles St.
978-835-8340
matkav@msn.com

Annemarie Cesa, Ward 5 (Secretary)
290 Essex Street 
978-922-4052 
acesa@beverlyschools.org

Lorinda Visnick, Ward 6
39 Middlebury Lane
978-927-1106
lvisnick@beverlyschools.org


City Council

Paul M. Guanci, At-Large, President 
978-922-7620 
pguanci@beverlyma.gov

Jason C. Silva, At-Large
978-927-0197
jsilva@beverlyma.gov

Matthew J. St. Hilaire, At-Large
979-969-2205
msthilaire@beverlyma.gov

David J. Lang, Ward 1  
978-927-1103
dlang@beverlyma.gov

Estelle Rand, Ward 2 
978-473-9891
erand@beverlyma.gov

James F. Latter, Ward 3 
978-921-8874 
 jlatter@beverlyma.gov

Scott D. Houseman, Ward 4 
978-927-3627
shouseman@beverlyma.gov

Donald Martin, Ward 5 
978-927-8888 
councilormartin@gmail.com

John P. Frates, Ward 6 
978-922-9379
jfrates@beverlyma.gov