This site aims to inform and mobilize Beverly parents to take an active role in all issues related to the funding and operation of the city's schools. It was launched in the spring of 2008, when the city saw its first-ever override attempt fail, followed by the closure of a nearly-new elementary school. Subsequent years have seen further cuts that have led to larger class sizes across the district. While the opening of an impressive new high school and plans to replace the city's aging middle school give us reason to be optimistic, the school community must be ever vigilant in demanding appropriate school funding by city and state governments, and better community communications from the district and School Committee.

Thursday, January 7, 2010

School Committee and City Council Contacts

Below is updated School Committee and City Council contact information. The new term started last week. Changes include Kris Silverstein replacing Jim Latter on the School Commitee, and Latter, along with Paul Guanci and Mike Cahill new members of the City Council. Cahill is the new City Council President.

School Committee
Member Ex Officio
His Honor, Mayor Bill Scanlon
5 Whitman Place
978-922-9699
mayor@beverlyma.govThis e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

David Manzi, Ward 1
34 Roderick Avenue
978-921-0123
dmanzigoldcoast@aol.comThis e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

Paul A. Manzo, Ward 2
89 Lovett Street
978-927-9912
p.manzo@comcast.netThis e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

Kris Silverstein,Ward 3
44 Longmeadow Road
978-922-0879
ksilverstein@beverlyschools.orgThis e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

Karen Fogarty,Ward 4
169 E. Lothrop Street
978-927-4617
karenfogarty@comcast.netThis e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

Annemarie Cesa, Ward 5
290 Essex Street
978-922-4052
acesa@beverlyschools.orgThis e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

Maria T. Decker, Ward 6
11 Wentworth Drive
978-927-1013
mtdecker@comcast.net


City Council
Michael P. Cahill, At-Large, President
28 Foster Drive
978-927-7814
mcahill@beverlyma.gov

Paul M. Guanci, At-Large
54 Cross Lane
978-922-7620
pguanci@comcast.net

Patricia Grimes, At-Large
26 Old Town Road
978-927-6244
pgrimes@beverlyma.gov

Maureen Troubetaris, Ward 1
20-A Davis Road
978-927-5681
mtroubetaris@beverlyma.gov

Wesley Slate, Jr., Ward 2
26 Lothrop Street
978-927-4844
wslate@beverlyma.gov

James F. Latter, Ward 3
145 Park Street
978-921-8874
jlatter@beverlyma.gov

Kevin Hobin, Ward 4
6 Gardner Street
978-922-6498
khobin@beverlyma.gov

Donald Martin, Ward 5
27 Berrywood Lane
978-927-8888
donandmichelemartin@comcast.net

Judith Cronin, Ward 6
33 Middlebury Lane
978-921-5893
judithcronin@comcast.net