This site aims to inform and mobilize Beverly parents to take an active role in all issues related to the funding and operation of the city's schools. It was launched in the spring of 2008, when the city saw its first-ever override attempt fail, followed by the closure of a nearly-new elementary school. Subsequent years have seen further cuts that have led to larger class sizes across the district. While the opening of an impressive new high school and plans to replace the city's aging middle school give us reason to be optimistic, the school community must be ever vigilant in demanding appropriate school funding by city and state governments, and better community communications from the district and School Committee.

Wednesday, April 23, 2008

Reconfiguration Committee Named

The Beverly Citizen reports that a nine-member committee comprised of one parent representative from each of the elementary schools, one community representative, one school committee member, and one city councilor has been named. The group, known as the Elementary School Reconfiguration Committee, is charged with examining in detail the Superintendent's plan to reconfigure the city's six elementary schools, and giving the School Committee its non-binding recommendation on the budget and reconfiguration plan.

School Committee President Annemarie Cesa said Hayes’ plan is the only one receiving serious consideration.

As the committee does its work, Cesa said the School Committee will continue to move forward with plans to implement Hayes’ plan. Hayes and other administrators will have to complete a large chunk of the work and determine which teachers would be laid off and how busing logistics would work out.

“He has to move forward in that way,” she said.

Committee nembers include:
  • School Committee: Jim Latter, chairman
  • City Council: Maureen Troubitaris
  • Ayers: Todd Rotondo
  • Cove: Steve Galante
  • Centerville: Mercene Perry
  • Hannah: Suzanne Beaudoin
  • North Beverly: Mary Morency
  • McKeown: Kim Sammons
  • Community representative: Mike Tallo